Final Nominees for 2013 Sir Arthur Clarke Awards

  • The Awards will, this year, be presented at a Ceremony during the Conference Dinner at the UK Space Conference, in Glasgow on the evening of Tuesday 16 July.

With well-known and highly appropriate celebrities hosting the evening and presenting the awards, it promises to be a prestigious and enjoyable event.

Sponsored by the UK Space Agency, the 2013 Awards are presented for outstanding and notable achievements in, and contributions to, all Space activities.

The following are the nominees selected by this year’s Judging Panel, chaired by Mrs. Angie Edwards, niece of Sir Arthur, UK Board Member of the Arthur C. Clarke Foundation.


Space Achievement – Industry/Project Team

  • Galileo Team at CGI & SSTL
  • e2v
  • Reaction Engines

Space Achievement – Industry/Project Individual

  • Brigadier Paul Flanagan, UK Space
  • John Thatcher
  • Dr Guy Richardson, Surrey Satellite Technology Ltd

Space Achievement – Academic Study/Research

  • Prof George Efstathiou, Kavli Institute for Cosmology, Cambridge (KICC), Institute of Astronomy
  • Professor Andrew Coates, Head of Planetary Science Group, Reader Mullard Space Science Laboratory
  • The Herschel-SPIRE Team, University of Cardiff led by Professor Matt Griffin

Space Achievement – Student

  • LightTouch2, University of Strathclyde
  • Rebecca Hayward, Hockerill Anglo European College
  • Arrow Lee and the PoleCATSTeam, Mullard Space Science Laboratory, University College London

Space Achievement – Education and Outreach

  • The National Space Academy Team
  • Stuart Eves, Surrey Space Technology Ltd
  • Dr Chris Bridges, Space Centre Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences University of Surrey
  • Randall Perry,  Senior Research Investigator, Impacts and Astromaterials Research Centre Imperial College London

Space Achievement – Media, Broadcast and Written

  • Ben Gilliland, Metro
  • The Material World Team and Quentin Cooper
  • 60 Second Adventures in Astronomy – The Open University

Lifetime Achievement

  • David Williams, UKSA
  • Professor Len Culhane, Mullard
  • Prof Alan Wells, University of Leicester

International Award

The Arthur C. Clarke Foundation Board has selected the following three finalists in the International Award:

  • Joe Pelton
  • The Curiosity Team
  • Jane Houston Jones



Be sociable; support the BIS!