BIS Gold Medal

The Gold Medal was introduced to celebrate famous achievements in Space. The design on the obverse – originally suggested as a badge for the Society – was prepared by Mr R. Turner. The Gold Medal was to be awarded to persons who have headed astronautical teams over a period of years, and was intended to recognize the achievement of the individual and the team of which they led.

  • 1961 – Major Yurii Gagarin
  • 1961 – Wernher von Braun
  • 1964 – Valentina Tereschkova
  • 1970 – Michael Collins
  • Edwin E. Aldrin Jr
  • Neil A. Armstrong
  • 1992 – Leonard J. Carter